Friday, 05 Mar, 7.10 pm NORTHEAST NOW

Assam: BJP releases first list of 70 candidates for Assembly elections

The BJP has announced its first list of candidates for the upcoming Assam Assembly elections.

The BJP announced candidates for 70 seats (first and second phase combined).

The BJP has denied tickets to as many as 11 sitting MLAs.

Among the big names, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal will contest from the Majuli constituency.

Notably, Sarbananda Sonowal is the sitting MLA from Majuli.

Assam Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma will contest from his current constituency Jalukbari.

On the other hand, Assam State BJP president Ranjit Dass will contest from Pathacharkuchi constituency.

Assam Minister Pijush Hazarika will contest from Jagiroad constituency.

Sitting MLA Padma Hazarika will contest from Sadiya constituency.

Ajanta Neog, who had quit the Congress and joined the BJP recently will contest from the Golaghat constituency.

The candidates were finalised during the meeting of the Central Election Committee (CEC) of the BJP held on Thursday night under the chairmanship of party's national president JP Nadda.

On the other hand, BJP's ally will contest in 26 seats and the UPPL will contest in 8 seats.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by Dailyhunt. Publisher: North East Now