Thursday, 24 Sep, 6.57 pm THE LOGICAL INDIAN

Parliament Clears IIIT Amendment Bill, Five New Institutes Given National Importance Tag

Parliament on Tuesday passed a bill to declare five newly established Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) as institutions of national importance. The five new IIITs set up under the Public-Private Partnership mode are situated in Surat, Bhopal, Bhagalpur, Agartala, and Raichur.

The Indian Institutes of Information Technology Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020 has already been passed by Lok Sabha in the previous session on March 20, 2020. The bill was introduced in the upper house on Monday by Human Resource Development Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank.

The education minister said that there are 25 IIITs in the country out of which five are purely run by the central government and the other 15 operate under public-private partnership (PPP) model.

"We have brought the proposal before this House to bring five new operational institutes which are located and have started operations in Surat (Gujarat), Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh), Bhagalpur (Bihar), Agartala (Tripura) and Raichur (Karnataka) to bring under this act," Nishank said as reported by Hindustan Times.

He also said that bringing the five new institutes under IIITs Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020 will make them institute of national importance. This will provide them with legal rights to issue diploma degree, PhD etc.

These 5 IIITs along with 15 other IIITs, which are built on public-private partnership (PPP) mode will now be able to use the nomenclature of Bachelor of Technology (BTech) or Master of Technology (MTech) or PhD degree.

It will also enable the institutes to attract enough students required to develop a strong research base in the country in the field of information technology.

PM Modi Seeks IIT-Guwahati's Help In Tackling Natural Calamities In Northeast

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by Dailyhunt. Publisher: The Logical Indian