Wednesday, 18 Sep, 10.10 am Telangana Today

Conference on gender inequality in physics at University of Hyderabad

Hyderabad: Over 200 physicists, social scientists, and educationists will gather at University of Hyderabad (UoH) on September 19, to cross disciplinary boundaries and debate on the vexed question of why there is a persistent gender gap in the profession of physics in India.

The conference, titled 'Pressing for Progress 2019: An IPA National Conference towards Gender Equity in Physics' is being organised by the Indian Physics Association and hosted by the School of Physics of the UoH in partnership with TIFR (Center for Interdisciplinary Sciences).

The conference will have eminent women physicists presenting keynote physics talks including Aditi De, the first woman awardee in physics of the Shantiswarup Bhatnagar award, the highest Indian award for science.

Women physicists from all over the country will present their research in a range of sub-disciplines, demonstrating a large and wide variety of talent. For the first time, physicists, educationists, social scientists and diversity experts will share a common space to deliberate on 'Different Angles on Promoting Gender Equity'.

The conference is on gender parity in Physics Working Group of the Indian Physics Association (IPA) of which Prajval Shastri is the chair. Vandana Nanal, secretary of IPA has described the conference as an important step towards restoring parity violation in gender.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by Dailyhunt. Publisher: Telangana Today English